The Château d'Écouen, located twenty kilometers north of Paris, and which overlooks the beautiful expanse of the plain of the country of France launched to meet the forest of Chantilly, today houses the exceptional collections of the National Museum of Renaissance. It is an equally exceptional setting for them.

 

Property of a great Renaissance lord, Anne de Montmorency, who grew up in the intimacy of François Ier, then flourished under the protection of Henry II, Écouen is not a residence like the others: it inscribes in its stones the ambitions and successes of a powerful man who is also a patron and an aesthete passionate about art.

This ardent collector, very often at the forefront of taste, was also the heir to a colossal fortune, which he further increased by a judicious policy of acquisitions, by his marriage to Madeleine de Savoie and by the favor royal. When he died in 1567, he owned some 130 castles scattered throughout France and two Parisian residences, including his mansion on rue Sainte-Avoye, which he endowed with a gallery painted by Nicolo dell'Abbate. All these places are the scene of reconstructions, developments, even real architectural projects, such as those of the small castle of Chantilly (1559) or the amazing bridge-gallery of Fère-en-Tardenois, both designed by Jean Bullant. But Écouen remains his masterpiece.

Activities

  • Temporary exhibitions
  • Workshop for adults
  • Children's workshop

Visit

  • Free visit: yes

Prices

Adult reduced rate 3,50 €
Group rate (per pers.) 4,50 €
Adult rate 5 €

Opening

From 01 January to 31 December
Monday Open from 09h30 à 12h45 and from 14h à 17h45
Tuesday Closed
Wednesday Open from 09h30 à 12h45 and from 14h à 17h45
Thusday Open from 09h30 à 12h45 and from 14h à 17h45
Friday Open from 09h30 à 12h45 and from 14h à 17h45
Saturday Open from 09h30 à 12h45 and from 14h à 17h45
Sunday Open from 09h30 à 12h45 and from 14h à 17h45

The park is open every day (including Tuesday) from 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Le château d'Écouen, situé à vingt kilomètres au nord de Paris, et qui surplombe la belle étendue de la plaine du pays de France lancée à la rencontre de la forêt de Chantilly, abrite aujourd'hui les collections exceptionnelles du musée national de la Renaissance. Il est pour elles un écrin tout aussi exceptionnel.

 

Propriété d'un grand seigneur de la Renaissance, Anne de Montmorency, qui a grandi dans l'intimité de François Ier, puis prospéré sous la protection d'Henri II, Écouen n'est pas une demeure comme les autres : elle inscrit dans ses pierres les ambitions et les succès d'un homme puissant qui est aussi un mécène et un esthète passionné d'art.

Cet ardent collectionneur, bien souvent à l'avant-garde du goût, était aussi l'héritier d'une fortune colossale, qu'il accrut encore par une judicieuse politique d'acquisitions, par son mariage avec Madeleine de Savoie et par la faveur royale. À sa mort, en 1567, il possède quelque 130 châteaux disséminés dans toute la France et deux résidences parisiennes dont son hôtel de la rue Sainte-Avoye qu'il a doté d'une galerie peinte par Nicolo dell'Abbate. Tous ces lieux sont le théâtre de reconstructions, d'aménagements, voire de véritables projets architecturaux, comme ceux du petit château de Chantilly (1559) ou du stupéfiant pont-galerie de Fère-en-Tardenois, tous deux conçus par Jean Bullant. Mais Écouen reste son chef-d'oeuvre.

Activités

  • Expositions temporaires
  • Atelier pour adultes
  • Atelier pour enfants

Visite

  • Visite libre : oui

Tarifs

Tarif réduit adulte 3,50 €
Tarif groupe (par pers.) 4,50 €
Tarif adulte 5 €

Ouverture

Du 01 janvier au 31 décembre
Lundi Ouvert de 09h30 à 12h45 et de 14h à 17h45
Mardi Fermé
Mercredi Ouvert de 09h30 à 12h45 et de 14h à 17h45
Jeudi Ouvert de 09h30 à 12h45 et de 14h à 17h45
Vendredi Ouvert de 09h30 à 12h45 et de 14h à 17h45
Samedi Ouvert de 09h30 à 12h45 et de 14h à 17h45
Dimanche Ouvert de 09h30 à 12h45 et de 14h à 17h45

Le parc est ouvert tous les jours (y compris le mardi) de 8h00 à 19h00