In the Land of Art and History "from Senlis to Ermenonville", enjoy a beautiful romantic stroll.

Class " Monument ", this English park owes its name to the famous philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau who stayed there for the last six weeks of his life. He died there in 1778 and was buried in Poplar Island. The park then became a place of literary pilgrimage.

First “landscape garden” throughout continental Europe, the Marquis René de Girardin created the park between 1766 and 1775, inspired by certain ideas of the “New Héloïse”, a novel by Rousseau published in 1761. “philosophical landscapes” are arranged in the way that a painter conceives his picture, and many poetic inscriptions are intended to make the walker think.

TombJJR

Spread over 62 ha, the Park was classified in 2019 as a "Sensitive Natural Area" because it is home to many environments (afforestation, meadow, river, pond, etc.), typical and sometimes rare flora as well as wildlife.

Departmental domain, the current fleet represents only part of the initial fleet, which is divided between three different owners: the western sector, called "the Desert", belongs to the Institut de France, and the northern sector belongs to the domain of the hotel-restaurant established at the Château d'Ermenonville. These two other sectors are only open to the public to a limited extent.

The Writers' Trail

A trail that encourages strolling in the footsteps of Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Gérard de Nerval and Etienne Pivert de Sinancourt. It walks between the Jean-Jacques Rousseau park and the Royal Abbey of Chaalis. Throughout your journey, you will be guided by the writers' texts. An architectural, botanical, faunal or geological reading completes these literary descriptions.
Paid access from Domain of Chaalis. Course to download HERE.

Useful information :

Free admission.
Open from April to October, Wednesday to Sunday from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Download it park map.

Coming by car:

Learn more

Closed

Jean-Jacques Rousseau Park
1 rue René de Girardin
60950 ERMENONVILLE

Calculer mon itinéraire
  • In Ermenonville, follow the Center / Parc Jean-Jacques Rousseau signs
  • Senlis: D1324, then the N330 at the roundabout to Ermenonville center
  • Lille: exit n°8 (Senlis) on A1, then direction Ermenonville at 12 km
  • Paris: 40 km by A1, exit n°7 Direction St-Witz then Ermenonville

You will like also

Dans le Pays d’Art et d’Histoire « de Senlis à Ermenonville », profitez d’une belle balade romantique.

Classé « Monument Historique », ce parc à l’anglaise doit son nom au célèbre philosophe Jean-Jacques Rousseau qui y séjourna les six dernières semaines de sa vie. Il y mourut en 1778 et fut inhumé dans l’île des Peupliers. Le parc devint alors un lieu de pèlerinage littéraire.

Premier « jardin paysager » dans toute l’Europe continentale, le marquis René de Girardin créa le parc entre 1766 et 1775, en s’inspirant de certaines idées de la « Nouvelle Héloïse », roman de Rousseau paru en 1761. Les « paysages philosophiques » sont arrangés de la manière qu’un peintre conçoit son tableau, et de nombreuses inscriptions poétiques sont destinées à faire réfléchir le promeneur.

TombeauJJR

Étendu sur 62 ha, le Parc fut classé en 2019 « Espace Naturel Sensible » car il abrite de nombreux milieux (boisement, prairie, rivière, étang, …), une flore typique et parfois rare ainsi qu’une faune sauvage.

Domaine départemental, le parc actuel ne représente qu’une partie du parc initial, qui se départage entre trois propriétaires différents : le secteur ouest, appelé « le Désert », appartient à l’Institut de France, et le secteur nord appartient au domaine de l’hôtel-restaurant établi au château d’Ermenonville. Ces deux autres secteurs ne sont ouverts au public que de façon restreinte.

Le Sentier des écrivains

Un sentier qui incite à la flanerie sur les pas de Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Gérard de Nerval et Etienne Pivert de Sinancourt. Il chemine entre le parc Jean-Jacques Rousseau et l’Abbaye Royale de Chaalis. Tout au long de votre parcours, vous serez guidé par les textes des écrivains. Une lecture architecturale, botanique, faunique ou géologique vient compléter ces descriptions littéraires.
Accès payant en partant du Domaine de Chaalis. Parcours à télécharger ICI.

Informations pratiques :

Entrée gratuite.
Ouvert d’avril à octobre, du mercredi au dimanche de 11h à 18h.

Téléchargez le plan du parc.

Venir en voiture :

En savoir plus

Fermé

Parc Jean-Jacques Rousseau
1 rue René de Girardin
60950 ERMENONVILLE

Calculer mon itinéraire
  • À Ermenonville, suivre le fléchage Centre / Parc Jean-Jacques Rousseau
  • Senlis : D1324, puis la N330 au rond-point jusqu’à Ermenonville centre
  • Lille : sortie n°8 (Senlis) sur A1, puis direction Ermenonville à 12 km
  • Paris : 40 km par A1, sortie n°7 Direction St-Witz puis Ermenonville

Vous aimerez aussi